- Home
- Personal Injury
- Superannuation TPD
- Claim denied
Your TPD claim was denied. Here is what happens next.
- Declines are common and frequently overturned
- AFCA review is independent and free to you
- No win, no fee. Nothing to pay up front
What does your letter say?
Four things to do this week
A decline is not the end of the claim, but it does start a clock. What you do in the weeks after receiving the letter affects how straightforward the challenge is.
- Keep the letter and note the date you received it. Time limits run from dates, and the date on the letter is not always the date it reached you.
- Do not accept the decision or sign anything. A decline is a position, not a settlement. Nothing needs to be agreed.
- Ask for the reasons and the file. You are entitled to know what material the decision was based on, including the medical opinions relied on.
- Keep treating. Gaps in treatment are read by insurers as evidence of recovery, whether or not that is why they happened.
Why insurers decline TPD claims, and what answers each reason
“You retain a capacity for work”
The most common reason, and it turns entirely on which test your policy uses.
If your policy applies an any occupation test, the insurer only has to identify some occupation you could reasonably perform given your education, training and experience. Insurers frequently point to a theoretical role rather than a realistic one.
What answers it: evidence about your actual capacity in the real labour market. Vocational assessment, your work history, the physical or cognitive demands of the roles suggested, and medical opinion directed specifically at whether those roles are open to you. A job that exists in theory is not the same as a job you could get and hold.
“Insufficient medical evidence”
This usually does not mean your doctors said you were fine. It means the reports did not answer the question the policy asks.
Treating doctors describe conditions, symptoms and treatment. Policy definitions ask something narrower: whether you are unlikely ever to return to work of a particular kind. A report can be entirely accurate and still not address that.
What answers it: reports commissioned to speak to the definition in your policy, in its wording, supported by treatment records covering the relevant period.
“You were not covered”
The insurer says cover had lapsed, never commenced, or had been cancelled, often because contributions stopped or the account balance fell.
Fund records are not always right, and cover rules have changed over the years. Legislation has also altered when default insurance can be cancelled for inactive or low-balance accounts.
What answers it: the fund’s own records, contribution history, member statements and the policy terms as they stood at the relevant time. This is a documentary argument, and documentary arguments are winnable.
“Pre-existing condition”
The insurer relies on an exclusion, arguing your condition existed before cover started.
Whether the exclusion genuinely applies depends on its precise wording, when cover commenced, what you knew at the time, and whether the current incapacity actually arises from the earlier condition. These are often arguable, particularly where a condition worsened materially later.
“Wrong date of disablement”
A quieter reason, and an important one. The date you are taken to have become disabled determines which policy applied, which definition governs, and sometimes whether you were covered at all.
Insurers commonly choose the date you last worked. That is not always the correct date, and establishing the right one can change the outcome entirely.
The claim was closed because you did not respond
Insurers sometimes close claims administratively where forms were not returned or requests were missed. If you were unwell, this is unsurprising and it is not fatal.
A closed claim can generally be reopened or relodged. It is worth acting rather than assuming the opportunity has gone.
The three routes after a decline
Get the file and rebuild
We obtain the insurer’s claim file and the reasons for the decision, then commission the evidence that answers the specific definition in your policy. Most of the work happens here.
Internal review
The decision goes back to the insurer with the new material. A meaningful proportion of declines resolve at this point, without any external body becoming involved.
AFCA complaint
If the refusal stands, the dispute can go to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority. It is independent of the insurer and free to you.
Court
Available if AFCA does not resolve matters. Comparatively few TPD disputes get this far, because most are decided on documents well before it.
Arguing with the decision rarely works. Answering it does.
Reports aimed at the definition
Medical opinion that addresses the policy wording directly, rather than describing your condition in general terms.
Vocational evidence
An assessment of what work you could realistically obtain and hold, which is the ground on which capacity declines are fought.
A complete treatment record
Continuous records covering the relevant period. Gaps get read as improvement, so the timeline matters.
The correct policy and date
Establishing which policy applied and from what date. Get this wrong and the right evidence is measured against the wrong test.
What challenging a decline costs
- Nothing to pay up front. No retainer and no bills while the challenge runs.
- Nothing to pay if we don’t win. Our fees are payable only on a successful outcome.
- AFCA costs you nothing. The complaints process itself is free to consumers.
- You get the package in writing first. Fixed price, quoted before you commit, so you are not deciding blind.

You will be dealing with Sha
Sha Hotchin has practised in Victoria since 2010 and has been an Accredited Specialist in Personal Injury Law since 2017. She runs declined TPD claims personally, from reviewing the decision through to AFCA if it goes that far.
- LIV Accredited Specialist, Personal Injury Law
- 16+ years in Victorian injury claims
- Advice in English, Hindi, Urdu and Punjabi
Worth reading next
TPD
Superannuation TPD claims
How TPD cover works, the occupation tests, claiming across multiple funds, and what a claim involves.
TPD claimsCosts & fees
What a TPD claim costs
Why TPD costs differ from WorkCover and TAC, and why there is usually no contribution from the insurer.
Read the guideCosts & fees
No win, no fee explained
What the phrase covers, uplift fees, and what you may still owe if a claim is unsuccessful.
Read the guideMore guides from Sha are in the Knowledge Centre, including what each claim type actually costs.